LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
+1 vote
in Chemistry by (54.8k points)

Comprehension given below is followed by some multiple choice questions. Each question has one correct option. Choose the correct option. In the modern periodic table, elements are arranged in order of increasing atomic numbers which is related to the electronic configuration. Depending upon the type of orbitals receiving the last electron, the elements in the periodic table have been divided into four blocks, viz, s, p, d and f. The modern periodic table consists of 7 periods and 18 groups. Each period begins with the filling of a new energy shell. In accordance with the Arfbau principle, the seven periods (1 to 7) have 2, 8, 8, 18, 18, 32 and 32 elements respectively. The seventh period is still incomplete. To avoid the periodic table being too long, the two series of f-block elements, called lanthanoids and actinoids are placed at the bottom of the main body of the periodic table.

The last element of the p-block in 6th period is represented by the outermost electronic configuration.

(i) 7s2 7p6

(ii) 5f14 6d10 7s2 7p0

(iii) 4f14 5d10 6s2 6p6

(iv) 4f14 5d10 6s2 6p4

1 Answer

+2 votes
by (78.2k points)
selected by
Best answer

(iii) 4f14 5d10 6s2 6p6

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.