LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (48.1k points)
closed by
Three US scientists have been awarded the Nobel prize in Physics for their work on gravitational waves. Which of the following is not one of them? 
1. Rainer Weiss
2. Kip Thone
3. Barry Barish
4. Richard Henderson

1 Answer

0 votes
by (41.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 4 : Richard Henderson

Richard Henderson is NOT correct.

  • The three US scientists awarded the Nobel prize in Physics for their work on gravitational waves in 2017 are:
    1. Rainer Weiss.
    2. Barry Barish.
    3. Kip Thone.
  • Richard Henderson was awarded Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017.
  • The other two scientists awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017 are:
    • Jacques Dubochet.
    • Joachim Frank.
  • They awarded the Nobel prize in chemistry 2017 for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution.
  • The three scientists awarded the Nobel prize in Physics in 2019 are:
    1. Jim Peebles.
    2. Didier Queloz.
    3. Michel Mayor.
  • Jim Peebles awarded the Nobel prize in physics for his theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology.
  • Didier Queloz and Michel Mayor awarded the Nobel prize in physics for their discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.