LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (35.4k points)
closed by
On the basis of administration forests are classified into how many types?
1. 6 types
2. 4 types
3. 3 types
4. 2 types

1 Answer

0 votes
by (48.1k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 3 : 3 types

The correct answer is option 3 i.e 3 types,

  • For the purpose of administration the forests in india are divided into three types.
  • The three types are:
    • Reserved Forests
    • Protected Forests
    • Unclassified Forests
  • Reserved forests occupy 53% of the total forest area. These are prohibited for entrance of public.
  • Protected forests occupy 23% of the total forest area. Local people can enter these.
  • Unclassified occupy 18% of the total forest area. There is no restriction as such in these types of forests.
  •  Also the forests can be classified into:
    • Very dense forests where the canopy covers above 70%.
    • Moderately dense forests are those where canopy covers between 40-70%.
    • Open forests are those where canopy occupy less than 10%.
    • Scrubs are degraded forest lands where canopy covers less than 10%.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.