LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (111k points)
closed by
Which country won the hockey (men) world cup title for the third time?
1. Netherland
2. India
3. Australia
4. Pakistan

1 Answer

0 votes
by (45.3k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 3 : Australia

The correct answer is Australia.

  • Men's FIH Hockey World Cup
    • The Men's FIH Hockey World Cup is an international field hockey competition organized by the International Hockey Federation (FIH).
    • The tournament was started in 1971.
    • It is held every four years, bridging the four years between the Summer Olympics.
    • Pakistan is the most successful team, having won the tournament four times.
    • The 2018 tournament was held in Bhubaneswar, India from 28 November to 16 December.
    • Belgium defeated the Netherlands in a penalty shoot-out 3–2 after the match ended in a 0–0 tie to win their first World Cup title.
    • The World Cup expanded to 16 teams in 2018, and FIH will evaluate the possibility of increasing it to 24 in 2022.

  • The Hockey World Cup trophy was designed by the Bashir Moojid and created by the Pakistani Army.
  • On 27 March 1971, in Brussels, the trophy was formally handed to FIH President Rene Frank by Mr. H.E Masood, the Pakistani Ambassador to Belgium.
  • The trophy consists of a silver cup with an intricate floral design, surmounted by a globe of the world in silver and gold, placed on a high blade base inlaid with ivory.
  • The Hockey World Cup consists of a qualification stage and a final tournament stage.

Related questions

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.