LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
JEE MAIN 2025 Foundation Course
NEET 2024 Crash Course
NEET 2025 Foundation Course
0 votes
in GK by (111k points)
closed by
Which of the following Rajput Dynasty founded the city of Dhillika (Delhi) in the eight century?
1. Parmar Dynasty
2. Solanki Dynasty
3. Tomar Dynasty
4. Chauhan Dynasty

1 Answer

0 votes
by (45.3k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 3 : Tomar Dynasty

The correct answer is Tomar Dynasty.

  • Tomar Dynasty:
    • Tomar dynasty is one of the minor early medieval ruling houses of northern India.
    • Puranic evidence gives its early location in the Himalayan region.
    • According to bardic tradition, the dynasty was one of the 36 Rajput tribes.
    • The history of the family spans the period between the reign of Anangpal, who founded the city of Delhi in the 11th century CE, and the incorporation of Delhi within the Chauhan (Chahamana) kingdom in 1164.
    • Although Delhi subsequently became decisively a part of the Chauhan kingdom, numismatic and comparatively late literary evidence indicates that Tomara kings such as Anangapala and Madanapala continued to rule as feudatories, presumably until the final conquest of Delhi by the Muslims in 1192–93.
    • Anangpal II, popularly known as Anangpal Tomar, belonged to the Tomar dynasty.
    • Anangpal II was the founder of Dhillika Puri, which eventually became Delhi.
    • Evidence about the early history of Delhi is inscribed on the iron pillar of Masjid Quwaatul Islam, adjacent to Qutub Minar.

  • Parmar Dynasty:
    • The Paramara dynasty was an Indian dynasty that ruled Malwa and surrounding areas in west-central India between the 9th and 14th centuries.
    • The medieval bardic literature classifies them among the Agnivanshi Rajput dynasties.
    • The dynasty was established around the 9th to 10th century.
    • The earliest extant Paramara inscriptions, issued by the 10th-century ruler Siyaka, have been found in Gujarat and suggest that he was a vassal of the Rashtrakutas of Manyakheta.
    • Around 972 CE, Siyaka sacked the Rashtrakuta capital Manyakheta and established the Paramaras as a sovereign power.
    • By the time of his successor Munja, the Malwa region in present-day Madhya Pradesh had become the core Paramara territory, with Dhara (now Dhar) as their capital.
  • Solanki Dynasty:
    • The Solankis were also one of the Agnikula clans of the Rajputs, however, it is believed that they descend from the Badami Chalukyas.
    • The Capital of Solankis was Anhilwara which is now Sidhpur Patan.
    • The Solankis were patrons of the Somnath Temple.
    • The dynasty was established by one chief named Mularaja who reigned from 942 to 996 AD.
    • The Mularaja period is known as the beginning of the Gujarati Culture, language and script.
    • The territories were known as Gujarjardesj, Gurjararastra and now Gujarat.
  • Chauhan Dynasty:
    • The Chauhan dynasty ruled the Shakambari region in the 11th century.
    • It was a politically strong dynasty known for its policies.
    • The great Rajputs were the kings of the Chauhan dynasty known for their bravery and loyalty.
    • He originally belonged to the Agnivanshi Clan (descendants of the Fire God).
    • Prithviraj Chauhan was the famous ruler of the Chauhan dynasty.

Related questions

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.