LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
Which of the following is also known as the winter monsoon?
1. Southwest monsoon
2. Northwest monsoon
3. Southeast monsoon 
4. Northeast monsoon

1 Answer

0 votes
by (30.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 4 : Northeast monsoon

The correct answer is Northeast monsoon.

  • The Northeast monsoon is commonly known as the winter monsoon.
  • Northeast monsoon:
    • The monsoon enters India from the Northeast direction.
    • In the Northeast monsoon, the wind blows from land to sea.
    • The Northeast monsoon brings rain to south India mainly in Kerala, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu.
    • During the Northeast monsoon, Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttrakhand experiences precipitation in the form of snowfall.

  • Southwest monsoon:
    • The Southwest monsoon is commonly known as the summer monsoon.
    • It enters India from the Southwest direction.
    • In the southwest monsoon, the wind blows from sea to land.
    • This brings heavy rainfall between June to September month.


Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.