LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
Which one of the following Articles/Schedules in the Constitution of India deals with Autonomous District Councils?
1. Sixth Schedule
2. Article 370
3. Article 250
4. Eight Schedule

1 Answer

0 votes
by (30.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : Sixth Schedule

The correct answer is Sixth Schedule.

  • The Sixth Schedule under the Indian Constitution provides for 10 Autonomous District Councils in 4 states.
  • The states are Assam, Tripura, Meghalaya, and Mizoram.
  • If there are different Scheduled Tribes in an Autonomous District, the Governor may, by public notification, divide the area or areas inhabited by them into Autonomous Regions.
  • There shall be a District Council for each Autonomous District consisting of not more than thirty members, of whom not more than four persons shall be nominated by the Governor and the rest shall be elected on the basis of adult suffrage.
  • There shall be a separate Regional Council for each area constituted an Autonomous Region.
  • Each District Council and each Regional Council shall be a body corporate by the name respectively of “the District Council of (name of district)” and “the Regional Council of (name of region)”, shall have perpetual succession and a common seal and shall by the said name sue and be sued.
  • Article 244 deals with the administration of tribal areas in states under the Sixth Schedule

  • Article 370: 
    • This article gives autonomous status to the state of Jammu and Kashmir. Under Part XXI of the Constitution of India, which deals with "Temporary, Transitional and Special provisions", the state of Jammu & Kashmir has been accorded special status.
    • It was adopted on 17 October 1949.
    • On 5 August 2019, the Government of India revoked Article 370
  • Article 250:
    • It contains the “power of Parliament to legislate with respect to any matter in the state list if a Proclamation of Emergency is in operation”.
  • Eight Schedule:
    • It contains a list of 22 official languages of India which are Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.