LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (53.7k points)
closed by
In which year ‘BRIC’ grouping was formed as ‘BRICS’?
1. 2010
2. 2015
3. 2009
4. 2012

1 Answer

0 votes
by (30.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : 2010

The correct answer is

  • BRICS-Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.
  • BRIC was founded in 2006 and later, in 2010, South Africa was included and it became BRICS.
  • After a series of high-level meetings, the 1st BRIC summit was held in Yekaterinburg, Russia on 16 June 2009.
  • Bilateral relations among BRICS states are conducted mainly based on non-interference, equality, and mutual benefit.
  • The New Development Bank set up by the BRICS group of nations has admitted the United Arab Emirates, Uruguay and Bangladesh as the first batch of new members as part of its expansion drive.
  • The Headquarters of the BRICS is in Shanghai, China.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.