LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
Which of the following states does not have veto power in the U. N. Security Council?
1. United States of America
2. United Kingdom
3. Canada
4. France

1 Answer

0 votes
by (53.7k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 3 : Canada

The correct answer is Canada.

  • The UN Security Council has 15 members, five permanent members, and 10 non-permanent members elected for two-year terms.
  • The five permanent members are the United States, the Russian Federation, France, China, and the United Kingdom.
    • Each permanent member of the Security Council has veto power.
  • Any reform of the Security Council would require the agreement of at least two-thirds of UN member states, and that of all the permanent members of the UNSC enjoying the veto right.
  • The council's presidency is a capacity that rotates every month among its 15 members.
  • The headquarters of the security council at New York.

  • India was elected as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for a two-year term with an overwhelming majority.
  • The two-year term will begin on 1 January 2021, and along with India — Ireland, Mexico and Norway were also elected to the council.
  • This is the eighth time India has been elected a non-permanent member of the UNSC.

  • The UN (United Nations Organization) was founded in 1945 after the Second World War.
  • It is currently composed of 193 Member States.
  • The United Nations is headquartered in New York City.
  • The main organs of the UN are
    • The General Assembly
    • The Security Council
    • The Economic and Social Council
    • The Trusteeship Council
    • The International Court of Justice
    • The UN Secretariat

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.