LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
The 2016 Nobel Prize in Economics was won by
1. Oliver Hart and Bengt Holmstrom
2. Angus Deaton and Jean Tirole
3. Patrick Modiano
4. Arthur B. McDonald

1 Answer

0 votes
by (53.7k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : Oliver Hart and Bengt Holmstrom

The correct answer is Oliver Hart and Bengt Holmstrom.

  • The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2016 to Oliver Hart and Bengt Holmstrom.
  • The new theoretical tools created by Hart and Holmstrom are valuable to the understanding of real-life contracts and institutions, as well as potential pitfalls in contract design.

  • Scottish economist Angus Deaton has won the Nobel memorial prize in economic sciences for "his analysis of consumption, poverty, and welfare" in 2015.
  • French economist Jean Tirole won Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2014.
  • Patrick Modiano is a French novelist.
    • He was awarded Nobel Prize in Literature in 2014.
    • He also won the 2012 Austrian State Prize for European Literature, the 2010 Prix Mondial Cino Del Duca from the Institut de France for lifetime achievement.
  • Arthur B. McDonald is a Canadian astrophysicist.
    • He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 2015 for "the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass".

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.