LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
Class 8 Foundation Course
Class 9 Foundation Course
Class 10 Foundation Course
Class 11 Foundation Course
Class 12 Foundation Course
0 votes
in History by (30.0k points)
closed by
During which of the following sessions of Indian National Congress did Subhash Chandra Bose resign from the Presidentship of INC?
1. Tripuri
2. Calcutta
3. Jaipur
4. Haripura

1 Answer

0 votes
by (53.7k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : Tripuri

The correct answer is Tripuri.

  • In the 1939 Tripuri Session, Subhash Chandra Bose Won the elections for the Indian National Congress (INC) president at Tripuri Session by defeating Pattabhi Sitaramayya.
  • Gandhi Ji and other members supported Pattabhi Sitaramayya, and Subhash Chandra Bose couldn't work efficiently, therefore, he resigned from the post of Congress president.
  • Later, He formed the Forward Bloc in Calcutta in 1939

  • The First session of the Indian National Congress was held at Bombay in 1885, and the president was WC Bonnerji.
  • 72 delegates from all over India attended the first session.
  • The Second session of the Indian National Congress was held at Calcutta in 1886 under the presidentship of Dadabhai Naoroji.
  • The Third session of the Indian National Congress was held at Madras in 1887 under the chairmanship of Syed Badruddin Tyabji, the first Muslim President.
  • The fourth session of the Indian National Congress was held at Allahabad in 1888 under the presidentship of George Yule, the first English President.

Place Year President
  1. 1886
  2. 1890
  3. 1896
  4. 1901
  5. 1906
  6. 1911
  7. 1917
  8. 1920 (Special Session)
  9. 1928
  10. 1933
  1. Dadabhai Naoroji
  2. Pheroz Shah Mehta
  3. Rahimtulla Sayani
  4. Dinshaw E. Wacha
  5. Dadabhai Naoroji
  6. Bishan Narayan Dhar
  7. Annie Besant
  8. Lala Lajpat Rai
  9. Motilal Nehru
  10. Nellie Sengupta
  • 1948 
  • Pattabhi Sitaramayya
  • 1938
  • Subhash Chandra Bose

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.