LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
Which of the following Committees is associated with the ‘Ecology of Western Ghats’?
1. Gadgil Committee
2. Sarkaria Committee
3. Khan Committee
4. Mishra Committee

1 Answer

0 votes
by (53.7k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : Gadgil Committee

The correct answer is Gadgil Committee.

  • Gadgil Committee is an environmental research committee is named after its chairman Madhav Gadgil.
  • The Panel is headed by Madhav Gadgil, formerly with the Indian Institute of Sciences, Bangalore.
  • The expert panel set up in 2010 suggests a Western Ghats Ecology Authority (WGEA) constitution, as a statutory authority appointed by the Ministry of Environment and Forests, with the powers under Section 3 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986.
  • The commission submitted the report to the Government of India on 31 August 2011.

  • The Western Ghats have been identified as an extensive region, spanning more than six states, 44 districts, and 142 talukas. 
  • Gadgil report recommended that “no new dams based on large-scale storage be permitted in Ecologically Sensitive Zone 1. 
  • Ecologically Sensitive Zones (ESZ-1) was of high priority; almost all developmental activities (mining, thermal power plants, etc.) were restricted.

  •  Sarkaria Committee: 
    • ​The Sarkaria Commission’s charter was to examine the relationship and balance of power between central-state governments in the country and suggest changes within the framework of the Constitution of India
  • Khan Committee:
    • SEBI had constituted a working group on March 26, 2018 under the Chairmanship of Shri H.R. Khan, Deputy Governor (Retired), Reserve Bank of India with the following terms of reference:-​​
      • To advise SEBI on redrafting the SEBI (Foreign Portfolio Investors) Regulations, 2014 for simplification.
      • To advise on any other issue relevant to FPIs. 
  • ​Mishra Committee:
    • ​Ranganath Mishra Commission was constituted by the Govt of India on 29 October 2004 for Religious and Linguistic Minorities.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.