LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
Who was awarded the ‘Dada Saheb Phalke’ award for the year 2011?
1. Soumitra Chatterji
2. Dev Anand
3. Rajesh Khanna
4. Yash Chopra

1 Answer

0 votes
by (53.7k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : Soumitra Chatterji

The correct answer is Soumitra Chatterji.

  • Soumitra Chatterji was awarded the Dada Saheb Phalke award for the year 2011.
  • Dada Saheb Phalke the National Film Awards named the most prestigious and coveted award of Indian Cinema.
  • Dhundiraj Govind Phalke is the man who made the first Indian Feature film Raja Harishchandra in 1913.
  • The Dadasaheb Phalke Award was introduced in 1969 by the government to recognize the contribution of film personalities towards the development of Indian Cinema.
  • The first Dada Saheb Phalke recipient of this award was Devika Rani.

  • Soumitra Chatterjee was born on January 19, 1935, in Calcutta, Bengal Presidency, British India.
  • He was an actor, known for The World of Apu (1959), Days and Nights in the Forest (1970), and Charulata (1964). 
  • In 2004 Soumitra Chatterji received the Padma Bhushan award.

  • Dadasaheb Phalke award is given in remembrance of the man who made the first Indian Feature film Raja Harishchandra in 1913. 
  • The Dadasaheb Phalke Award was introduced in 1969 by the government to recognize the contribution of film personalities towards the development of Indian Cinema.
  • The award comprises a Swarna Kamal, a Cash Prize of Rs 10,00,000 (Rupees Ten Lakhs) certificate, a silk scroll, and a shawl.
  • The most recent awardee of the Dadasaheb Phalke award is Amitabh Bachchan who won the award in 2018.
  • Recently, Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Festival Awards 2021 has announced-
    • Best Actor (Female)- Deepika Padukone
    • Best Actor (Male)- Akshay Kumar
    • Critic's Best Actress- Kiara Advani
    • Critic's Best Actor- Sushant Singh Rajput
    • Best Film- Tanhaji-The Unsung Warrior

Actor Award
Dev Anand
  • Dada Saheb Phalke award. (2003)
  • Padma Bhushan (2001)
  • IIFA Lifetime Achievement Award (2003)
  • Stardust Award for Lifetime Achievement (2009)
Rajesh Khanna
  • Asia-Pacific Film Festival (1977)
  • BFJA Award for Best Actor (1987)
  • Berlin International Film Festival (1981)
Yash Chopra
  • Dada Saheb Phalke aware (2003)
  • Padma Bhushan (2005)
  • Screen Lifetime Achievement Award (2013)

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.