LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
Who were the Faraizis?
1. Followers of Haji Shariatullah
2. Followers of Dadu
3. Followers of the Arya Samaj
4. Followers of the Muslim League

1 Answer

0 votes
by (54.3k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : Followers of Haji Shariatullah

The correct answer is Followers of Haji Shariatullah.

  • Faraizi Movement was the religious reform movement launched by Haji Shariatullah.
  • It was a religious reform movement in the 19th century for Bengali Muslims.
  • The followers of the Haji Shariatullah are known as Faraizis.
  • The movement was to revive Islam and improve the condition of Muslim peasants who were opposed by Hindu and British landlords. 
  • The Faraizi movement spread with extraordinary rapidity in the districts of Dhaka, Faridpur, Bakerganj, Mymensingh, Tippera (Comilla), Chittagong, and Noakhali as well as to the province of Assam.
  • The movement, however, gained the greatest momentum in those places where the Muslim peasantries were depressed under the oppressive domination of Hindu zamindars and European indigo planters.

  • The Arya Samaj was founded in 1875 by Swami Dayananda Saraswati (1824-83). Swami Dayananda Saraswati was a Sanskrit scholar.
    • Arya Samaj prevents child marriages and fixed the minimum marriageable age for boys and girls. The minimum marriageable age for boys and girls are 25 years and 16 years respectively.
    • Under the samaj, Inter-caste marriage and widow remarriage were encouraged.
    • Even today, Arya Samaj Mandirs (temples) perform such acts with sincerity and promptness.
    • Equal status for women (both in letter and spirit) was the demand of the samaj.
  • On 30 December 1906, the All-India Muslim League (AIML) was founded in Dhaka, British India (now in Bangladesh).
    • It was popularly known as the Muslim League.
    • AIML was the first Muslim political party in India.
    • The founders of the Muslim League were: Khwaja Salimullah, Vikar-ul-Mulk, Syed Amir Ali, Syed Nabiullah, Khan Bahadur Ghulam, and Mustafa Chowdhury.
    • The first Honorary President of the League was Sir Sultan Muhammad Shah (Aga Khan III).
  • The followers of the 16th-century saint Dadu Dayal called Dadu Panth.
    • Followers of Dadu Dayal can be classified into 5 groups:- Khalsa, Virakta, Sthandhari, Uttaradev, and Khaki.
    • Dadu Dayal stressed faith in God and Guru, knowledge of self, love, morality, the futility of casteism, truth, and simple life.
    • Naraina is the principal seat of Dadu Panthis where clothes & pothis of Dadu Ji are kept.
    • His teachings have been consolidated by his disciples Dadudayal Ki Vani & Dadudayal-Ra-Duha.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.