LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
Who among the following has been awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2014?
1. Kailash Satyarthi
2. Malala Yousafzai
3. Jean Tirole
4. Patrick Modiano

1 Answer

0 votes
by (54.3k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 4 : Patrick Modiano

The correct answer is Patrick Modiano.

  • Patrick Modiano has been awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2014.
  • Nobel Prize:
    • The Nobel Prizes regarded as the most prestigious awards given for intellectual achievement in the world are awarded annually from a fund bequeathed for that purpose by the Swedish inventor and industrialist Alfred Nobel. 
    • It is announced every year for excellence in Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature, Economics, and a distinguished achievement towards humanity – commonly known as the Nobel Peace Prize.
    • Nobel Prizes in all the above said fields except Economics were first awarded in 1901.
    • Nobel Prize in Economics was established in 1968.
    • Poet and writer Rabindranath Tagore was the first non-European and Indian to get a Nobel Prize in 1913 in literature.
    • India received its first Nobel Prize in physics in 1930 when scientist Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman was awarded “for his work on the scattering of light and for the discovery of the effect named after him”.
    • This phenomenon is now known as Raman Effect.
    • Har Gobind Khorana shared his 1968 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine with Robert W Holley and Marshall W Nirenberg.
    • The trio was honored “for their interpretation of the genetic code and its function in protein synthesis”.

  • Malala Yousafzai and Kailash Satyarthi won Nobel Peace Prize in 2014.
  • Jean Tirole won Nobel Prize in Economics in 2014.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.