LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
Who proposed the Preamble before the drafting committee of the Constitution of India ? 
1. Jawaharlal Nehru 
2. B.R. Ambedkar 
3. Mahatma Gandhi 
4. B.N. Rau 

1 Answer

0 votes
by (54.3k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : Jawaharlal Nehru 

The correct answer is Jawaharlal Nehru.

  • Jawaharlal Nehru proposed the creation of the Preamble before the drafting committee of the Constitution and then it was adopted by the Constituent Assembly. 
  • It laid down the ideologies, fundamentals, and philosophy behind the Constitutional structure.
  • Benegal Narsimha Rau, who was an Indian Administrative Service officer and judge of the International Court of Justice was the advisor to the Indian Constitution.
  • Jawaharlal Nehru and Sachchidananda Sinha created the first draft of the Indian Constitution.
  • The Constituent Assembly was elected to frame the Constitution of India.

  • In 1934, M N Roy first proposed the idea of a Constituent Assembly.
  • The demand was taken up by the Indian National Congress in 1935 as an official demand.
  • Constituent Assembly was formed on the basis of the framework provided by the Cabinet Mission Plan of 1946.
  • It was constituted on 9th December 1946.
  • The Constitution-making body was elected by the Provincial Legislative Assembly consisting of 389 members, which includes 93 members from the Princely States and 296 members from British India.
  • Important composition of the Constituent Assembly:
    • Sachchidananda Sinha - Interim President
    • Dr. Rajendra Prasad - President
    • Harendra Coomar Mookerjee - Vice President
    • BN Rau - Constitutional Advisor
  • ​Important Committees of the Constituent Assembly:
    • Drafting Committee - Dr. B R Ambedkar
    • Union Constitution Committee - Jawaharlal Nehru
    • Union Powers Committee - Jawaharlal Nehru
    • States Committee - Jawaharlal Nehru
    • Steering Committee - Dr. Rajendra Prasad
    • Rules of Procedure Committee - Dr. Rajendra Prasad
    • Provincial Constitution Committee - Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.