LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
Who was elected the first President of All India Kisan Sabha at Lucknow in 1936?
1. N. G. Ranbga
2. E. M. S. Namboodri pad
3. Swami Sahajanand Saraswati
4. Acharya Narendra Dev
5. None of the above/More than one of the above

1 Answer

0 votes
by (54.3k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 3 : Swami Sahajanand Saraswati

The correct answer is Swami Sahajanand Saraswati.

  • Swami Sahajanand Saraswati was elected the first President of All India Kisan Sabha at Lucknow in 1936.
  • Swami Sahajanand Saraswati:
    • Sahajanand Saraswati was an ascetic, a nationalist, revolutionist, and peasant leader of India.
    • Although he was born in North-Western Provinces (present-day state of Uttar Pradesh), his social and political activities focussed mostly on Bihar in the initial days, and gradually spread to the rest of India with the formation of the All India Kisan Sabha.
    • He had set up an ashram at Bihta, near Bihar carried out primary of his work in the latter part of his life from there.
    • Recognized as one of the principals and significant leaders of the peasantry in Bihar, Swami Sahajanand Saraswati was a brilliant intellectual and a striking master of debate.
    • Gifted with numerous qualities of mass leadership, Sahajanand grew as a social reformer and politician and won a circle of several admirers.
    • However, to his ill-fate, all his contributions towards the freedom movement of India and raising the consciousness of peasants are forgotten today, except amongst a small number of historians and social scientists.
    • The most attractive and instructive respect that he earned during his life was his intellectual transformation, which makes him distinguished even today, though with a small population.
    • He was a versatile genius performing several roles during his entire working career, such as linguist, polymath, sociologist, historian, philosopher, writer, grammarian, ascetic, revolutionary, Marxist, and politician.

  • N.G.Ranbga:
    • N.G.Rangba was an Indian freedom fighter, classical liberal, parliamentarian and farmer leader.
    • He is the founding president of the Swatantra Party.
    • Ranga joined the freedom movement inspired by Gandhi's clarion call in 1930.
    • He led the ryot agitation in 1933.
    • He wrote a book, Bapu Blesses regarding his discussions with Gandhi.
    • He wrote many other books like Credo of World Peasantry, Economic Organization of Indian Villages and Indian Adult Education Movement which are illustrative of a brilliant erudite ability and diverse interests.
  • E.M.S.Namboodri pad:
    • Elamkulam Manakkal Sankaran Namboodiripad, popularly EMS, was an Indian communist politician and theorist.
    • E.M.S served as the first Chief Minister of Kerala in 1957–59 and then again in 1967–69.
    • Namboodiripad became a member of the Congress Socialist Party in 1934, but he soon shifted to the Communist Party of India (CPI).
    • He was elected to the party’s central committee in 1941 and to its politburo in 1951.
    • During that period he played a key role in formulating party doctrine, and he studied and wrote extensively about the economic and social problems facing Kerala, which included insufficient agricultural output, high unemployment, and overpopulation.
  • Acharya Narendra Dev:
    • Acharya Narendra Deva was one of the leading theorists of the Congress Socialist Party in India.
    • His democratic socialism renounced violent means as a matter of principle and embraced the satyagraha as a revolutionary tactic.
    • He became Vice-Chancellor of Lucknow University from 1947 to 1951 and Banaras Hindu University (BHU) from 1951 to 1953 after teaching at Kashi Vidyapeeth.
    • His own life was austere, and he used to financially support disadvantaged students.
    • He had a warm and inspiring friendship with the students. 

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.