LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
Which mountain range divides the state of Rajasthan into East Rajasthan and Western Rajasthan?
1. Western Ghats Range
2. Aravali Range
3. Vindhyachal Range
4. Purvanchal Range

1 Answer

0 votes
by (54.3k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 2 : Aravali Range

The correct answer is the Aravali Range.

  • The Aravali Range divides the state of Rajasthan into East Rajasthan and Western Rajasthan.

  • Aravali Range
    • The Aravalli Range is a mountain range approximately 670 km long in a southwest direction, starting near Delhi, passing through southern Haryana and Rajasthan, and ending in Gujarat.
    • The highest peak is Guru Shikhar at 1,722 meters. 
    • The Aravalli Range is the oldest block of mountains in India.
    • It divides Rajasthan into two halves.
    • With three-fifths of Rajasthan on the western side towards the Thar Desert and two-thirds on the eastern side.
    • Aravalli range acts as a barrier and prevents the monsoon winds to enter Rajasthan. 
    • Rajasthan receives less rainfall because it lies in the rain shadow area of the Aravalli hills, which obstructs the path of moisture-carrying winds.


  • Western Ghats Range
    • The Western Ghats aka Sahyadri is a mountain range that runs parallel to the western coast of the Indian peninsula, traversing the states of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Goa, Maharashtra, and Gujarat. 
    • It is the most diverse area in terms of biodiversity richness.
  • Vindhyachal Range
    • The Vindhya Range is a complex, discontinuous chain of mountain ridges, hill ranges, highlands, and plateau in west-central India.
    • The Malwa plateau lies between Aravali and Vindhya ranges.
  • Purvanchal Range
    • Eastern Hills or The Purvanchal is the southward extension of the Himalayas. 
    • The five important hills of the purvanchal range are Naga Hills, Manipuri Hills, Garo-Khasi Hills, Mizo Hills, and Jaintia Hills.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.