LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
First person to become President since becoming Vice President:
1. V V Giri
2. Dr. Zakir Hussain
3. Dr. Rajendra Prasad
4. Dr. S. Radhakrishnan

1 Answer

0 votes
by (54.3k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 4 : Dr. S. Radhakrishnan

The correct answer is Dr S. Radhakrishnan.

  • Dr S. Radhakrishnan:
    • He was the first vice president of India.
    • He was born on September 5, 1888, in Thiruttani, Madras Presidency.
    • Dr S. Radhakrishnan is the first Chairmen of the Council of State.
    • First-person to become President since becoming Vice President.
    • He became the second President of India after his tenure as chairmen of the council of state.
    • He was the chairmen of the council of state from 1952 to 1962.
    • He became President of India in 1962.
    • Dr S. Radhakrishnan was an ambassador to USSR from 1949 to 1952.
    • His birthday is celebrated as National Teacher's Day.
    • He wrote the famous book Hindu Philosophy.
    • He died on April 17, 1975.

  • Vice President of India:
    • Vice President of India is India's second-highest post-President constitutional office in India.
    • Article 63 of the Indian Constitution states that "There shall be a Vice President of India."
    • The Vice President shall serve as President in the absence of a President by reason of death, resignation, impeachment, or other circumstances.
    • The Vice President of India is now ex officio Rajya Sabha's Chairperson. When a bill is put in Rajya Sabha, the vice president decides whether or not it is a financial bill.
    • If he thinks a bill introduced in the Rajya Sabha is a money bill, he will refer the case to the Lok Sabha Speaker for decision.
    • Article 66 of the Indian Constitution provides for the manner in which the Vice President shall be chosen.
    • The Vice President is indirectly chosen by members of an electoral college composed of members of both Houses of Parliament in accordance with the system of Proportional Representation through the Single Transferable Vote and the vote is by secret ballot by the election commission.
    • The Vice President of India also serves as Punjab University's Honorable Chancellor, Chandigarh.
    • First Vice President: Dr S. Radhakrishnan.
    • On the election of 5 August 2017, Venkaiah Naidu became the 13th Vice-President of India after defeated the UPA's candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.