LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
Who wrote Neil Darpan?
1. Bankim Chandra Chatterjee
2. Deenabandhu Mitra
3. Dr S Radakrishnan
4. Rabindranath Tagore

1 Answer

0 votes
by (54.3k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 2 : Deenabandhu Mitra

The correct answer is ​Deenabandhu Mitra.

  • Neil Darpan:
    • Nil Darpan or The Indigo Planting Mirror was a Bengali play written by Dinabandhu Mitra in 1858-1859.
    • The drama was written in the context of social agitation in Bengal, known as the Indigo Revolt.
    • The play examines the treatment of the Indian peasantry or ryots by the indigo planters.
    • It was first published in 1860.
    • Mitra’s play shone a light on the behaviour of certain European indigo planters, the worst excesses of which were further exposed by an official report of the 1861 Indigo Commission.
    • Ryots were forced to plant indigo, a crop that was in demand by the international textile industry but which degraded the land.
    • The play reflected the realities of intimidation, exploitation, violence (including sexual violence), and lack of redress through the judicial system experienced by many in Bengal.

  • Bankim Chandra Chatterjee:
    • Indian author, whose novels firmly established prose as a literary vehicle for the Bengali language and helped create in India a school of fiction on the European model.
    • He was born on June 26, 18, in Naihati, Bengal.
    • From 1858, until his retirement in 1891, he served as a deputy magistrate in the Indian civil service.
    • He was best known for writing Vandemataram, The national song of India.
    • Vande Matram was taken from Anand Math. 
    • Anand Math also depicts the Sanyasi revolt.
    • It was written in the Bengali language in 1882.
    • He died on April 8, 1894, in Calcutta.
  • Rabindranath Tagore:
    • He was an Indian Poet, writer, painter, composer and social reformer.
    • He was born on May 7, 1861, in Calcutta.
    • He was the first Asian who received Nobel Prize for Literature in 1913.
    • His work Geetanjali got the Nobel Prize.
    • He was credited for writing our National Anthem Jana Gana Mana.
    • He was also written the National Anthem of Bangladesh. ( Amar Shonar Bangla).
    • Chandalika was a famous play of Rabindranath Tagore.
    • Rabindranath Tagore returned 'the sir' (Knighthood) award to the British government in 1919 to protest against the Jallianwala Bagh Massacre in which 379 innocent people died at the hands of the British army. 
    • He founded Vishwa Bharathi, Oldest central university.
    • Rabindranath Tagore gave the title of Mahatma to M K Gandhi.
    • He died on August 7, 1941, in Calcutta.
  • ​Dr S Radakrishnan:
    • He was the first vice president of India.
    • He was born on September 5, 1888, in Thiruttani, Madras Presidency.
    • Dr S. Radhakrishnan is the first Chairmen of the Council of State.
    • First-person to become President since becoming Vice President.
    • He became the second President of India after his tenure as chairmen of the council of state.
    • He was the chairmen of the council of state from 1952 to 1962.
    • He became President of India in 1962.
    • Dr S. Radhakrishnan was an ambassador to USSR from 1949 to 1952.
    • His birthday is celebrated as National Teacher's Day.
    • He wrote the famous book Hindu Philosophy.
    • He died on April 17, 1975.

Related questions

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.