LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in History by (30.0k points)
closed by
Where was the first session of the Indian National Congress held in December 1885?
1. Calcutta
2. Bombay
3. Lahore
4. Madras

1 Answer

0 votes
by (54.3k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 2 : Bombay

The correct answer is Bombay.

  • The Indian National Congress (INC) was founded by Allan Octavian Hume on 28th December 1885.
  • The first session of INC was held in Bombay at Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit Collegeram.
  • The first President of the INC session held in Bombay was Womesh Chandra Banerjee.
  • 72 delegates attended the session.
  • The important leaders during the foundation of INC were Dadabhai Naoroji, Badruddin Tyyabji, Anand Mohan Bose, R.C Dutt, Pherozshah Mehta, G.K Gokhale, G. Subramaniyam Aiyyar, Dinshaw Vacha, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Mahadev Govind Ranade, Madan Mohan Malviya, etc.
  • Formerly Indian National Congress was known as Indian National Union.
  • The INC was formed during the tenure of Lord Dufferin (Viceroy of India from 1884-1888).
Sessions of INC Held at Year President
Bombay 1885 Womesh Chandra Banerjee
Calcutta 1896 Rahimtullah Sayani
Lucknow 1899 Romesh Chandra Dutt
Benaras 1905 Gopal Krishna Gokhale
Calcutta 1906 Dadabhai Naoroji
Surat 1907 Rash Bihari Ghosh
Lucknow 1916 A. C. Majumdar
Calcutta (Special Session) 1920 Lala Lajpat Rai
Nagpur 1920 C. Vijayaraghavachariar
Madras 1927 Dr. M. A. Ansari
Bombay 1934 Rajendra Prasad
Tripuri 1939 Rajendra Prasad

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.