LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (54.3k points)
closed by
In how many districts of Andhra Pradesh is the PESA Act implemented ?
1. 2
2. 3
3. 5
4. 8

1 Answer

0 votes
by (30.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 3 : 5

The correct answer is 5.

  • The total tribal population of Andhra Pradesh is 27.39 lakh, which constitutes 5.53 percent of the total State population as per the 2011 census.
  • A.P State is the traditional habitat for 19 tribal communities.
    • Among them, Chenchu, Kondareddy, Kondh, Porja, Gadaba, and Savara are specially categorized as Particularly Vulnerable Tribals Groups (PVTG).
  • The Scheduled Areas is spread over 5 districts of Andhra Pradesh:
    • Srikakulam
    • Vizianagaram
    • Visakhapatnam
    • East Godavari
    • West Godavari 

  • Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) Act, 1996:
    • The Provisions of the Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) Act, 1996 or PESA is a law enacted by the Government of India for ensuring self-governance through traditional Gram Sabhas for people living in the Scheduled Areas of India.
    • Scheduled Areas are areas identified by the Fifth Schedule of the Constitution of India.
      • Scheduled Areas are found in ten states of India which have a predominant population of tribal communities.
      • The Scheduled Areas, were not covered by the 73rd Constitutional Amendment or Panchayati Raj Act of the Indian Constitution as provided in Part IX of the Constitution.
      • PESA was enacted on 24 December 1996 to extend the provisions of Part IX of the Constitution to Scheduled Areas, with certain exceptions and modifications.
      • PESA sought to enable the Panchayats at appropriate levels and Gram Sabhas to implement a system of self-governance with respect to a number of issues such as customary resources, minor forest produce, minor minerals, minor water bodies, selection of beneficiaries, sanction of projects, and control over local institutions.
      • PESA is an Act to provide for the extension of the provisions of Part IX of the Constitution relating to the Panchayats and the Scheduled Areas.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.