LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (54.3k points)
closed by
In which year, were the Panchayat Samithis abolished and Mandal Praja Parishads established in Andhra Pradesh?
1. 1974
2. 1980
3. 1985
4. 1986

1 Answer

0 votes
by (30.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 4 : 1986

The correct answer is 1986.

  • Panchayat Samithi's were abolished and Mandal Praja Parishads were established in 1986 through Andhra Pradesh Mandal Praja Parishads, Zilla Praja Parishads, and Zilla Paranalika Abhirudhi Mandals Act, 1986.
  • This act provided the constitution of Mandal Praja Parishads, Zilla Praja Parishads, and Zilla Pranalika, Abhiruvdhi Mandals.
  • Mandal Praja Parishad means a Mandala Praja Parishad constituted under section 3 or reconstituted under that section or section 75.
  • The Government may by notification from time to time and with effect on and from such date, as may be specified constitute a Mandala Praja Parishad for each Mandal.
  • Every Mandala Praja Parishad shall consist of the following members
  1. The Sarpanch of every gram panchayat in the Mandal, Ex-officio.
  2. The Member of the Legislative Assembly of the State representing a constituency which comprises the Mandal.
  • No person shall be entitled to be a member of more than one Mandal Praja Parishad at a time.
  • There shall be a President for each Mandala Praja Parishad, who is elected by the persons who are registered voters in the Mandal from among themselves.

  • Andhra Pradesh
    • Chief Minister: Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy
    • ​​​​Governer: Biswabhusan Harichandan 
    • Capitals: Hyderabad, Visakhapatnam, Amaravati, Kurnool
    • State Mammal: Blackbuck
    • State Bird: Parrot
    • State Tree: Neem
    • State Flower: Jasmine
    • State Dance: Kuchipudi

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.