LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (54.3k points)
closed by
Among the following who is not the recipient of Nobel prize in Chemistry in 2017?
1. Jacques Dubochet
2. Joachim Frank
3. Richard Henderson
4. Barry C. Barish

1 Answer

0 votes
by (30.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 4 : Barry C. Barish

The Correct Answer is Barry C. Barish.

  • Barry Clark Barish is a Nobel Laureate in experimental physics from the United States.
  • In 2017, Barish, Kip Thorne, and Rainer Weiss were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the discovery of gravitational waves."
  • He joined the University of California, Riverside faculty in 2018, becoming the university's second Nobel Laureate on the faculty.


  • Jacques Dubochet
    • He is a retired biophysicist from Switzerland. He shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry with Richard Henderson and Joachim Frank in 2017, for "developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution."
  • Joachim Frank
    • He is a Nobel Laureate and a German-American biophysicist at Columbia University. He is credited with developing single-particle cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM), for which he shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry with Jacques Dubochet and Richard Henderson in 2017.
  • Richard Henderson
    • He is a Scottish molecular biologist and biophysicist who was a pioneer in the area of biological electron microscopy. Henderson, Jacques Dubochet, and Joachim Frank shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2017.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.