LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (54.3k points)
closed by
In 1953, under whose chairmanship was the first OBC Commission formed ?
1. K.K. Shetty
2. Hardekar Manjappa
3. Kaka Kalelkar
4. Joachim Alva

1 Answer

0 votes
by (30.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 3 : Kaka Kalelkar

The correct answer is Kaka Kalekar.

  •  A Backward Classes Commission was appointed by the President of India on 29 January 1953 with Kaka Kaielkar as its chairman.
  • The Commission was directed to determine the criteria to be adopted in considering whether any section of people should be treated as socially and educationally backward.
    • Adhering to Article 340 of the Constitution of India, the First Backward Classes Commission was set up.
  • It is also known as the First Backward Classes Commission, 1955, or the Kaka Kalelkar Commission.

  • The Mandal Commission, or the Socially and Educationally Backward Classes Commission (SEBC), was established in India on 1 January 1979 by the Janata Party government.
  • The Constitution (One Hundred and Second Amendment) Act, 2018, introduced Article 338B which provides for a Commission for the socially and educationally backward classes to be known as the National Commission for Backward Classes.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.