LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (54.3k points)
closed by
Planet Neptune has________ known moons?
1. 13
2. 4
3. 2
4. 3

1 Answer

0 votes
by (30.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : 13

The correct answer is 13.

Planet Neptune has 13 known moons.

  • In order of distance from Neptune, the regular moons are Naiad, Thalassa, Despina, Galatea, Larissa, Hippocamp, and Proteus.
  • All but the outer two are within Neptune-synchronous orbit (Neptune's rotational period is 0.6713 days or 16 hours) and thus are being tidally decelerated.

  •  Neptune has a total of 13 known moons.
    • The largest moon is Triton which was discovered by William Lassell just seventeen days after Neptune was found.
    • One hundred years later the second moon, Nereid was found.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.