LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
JEE MAIN 2025 Foundation Course
NEET 2024 Crash Course
NEET 2025 Foundation Course
0 votes
in GK by (30.1k points)
closed by

The Chief Justice and other Judges of the Indian Supreme Court are appointed by

1. The President
2. The Attorney General
3. The Governor
4. The Prime Minister

1 Answer

0 votes
by (54.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : The President

​The correct answer is President


  • The Supreme Court stands at the apex of the judicial system of the country.
    • Article 124 provides for the establishment and constitution of the Supreme court.
    • Established as the Supreme court of India on 28th January 1950.
    • Also known as the 'guardian of our Constitution.
    • Also known as 'court of record'.
  • The Chief Justice and other Judges of the Indian Supreme Court are appointed by the President
  • The power to increase or decrease the number of judges of the supreme court rests with the Parliament.
  • After the appointment of the new four justices on 18 September 2019, the strength of the Supreme court increases from 30 to 34.
  • The chief justice of India is the head of the Supreme Court of India.
  • The appointment of judges other than the chief justice, the chief justice of India shall always be consulted.


  • The Judges of the Supreme Court can be removed only by the Parliament by the procedure established by Law.
    • A judge of the Supreme Court or High Court can be removed only on the ground of proven misbehavior or incapacity.
    • A motion containing the charges against the judge must be approved by a special majority in both Houses of Parliament.
    • After the motion is passed by both the houses by a special majority, it will be sent to the President.
    • Finally, the President gives his order of removal to the judge concerned.


  • The Attorney General of India is the highest law officer in the country.
    • The Attorney General of India is appointed by the President.
  • The governor is the chief executive head of the state.
    • Governor is appointed by the President.
  • The Prime minister is the keystone of the Cabinet arch.
    • The Prime minister is appointed by the President.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.