LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (54.0k points)
closed by
Where was the first T20I Men's Cricket World Cup held?
1. New Zealand
2. South Africa
3. Australia
4. India

1 Answer

0 votes
by (30.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 2 : South Africa

The correct answer is South Africa.

  • The first T20I Men's Cricket world cup held in South Africa from 11 to 24 September 2007.
  • In the first T20 World Cup, a total of 12 teams had participated.
  • The First T20 World Cup Champion was the Indian cricket team and the Runner-up was Pakistan.

  • In the first T20 World Cup, the Man of the series was given to Shahid Afridi.
  • Umar Gul had taken 13 wickets in this tournament and he was the highest wicket-taker in that tournament.
  • Mathew Hyden has scored a total of 265 runs in the tournament and its highest individual score in the first world cup.
  • The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place in October and November 2022 in Australia.
  • The current T20 World Cup Champions are West Indies, as of March 2021.

List of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup Winners (2007-2016):
Winner Runner-Up Year and Host
India Pakistan 2007/ South Africa
Pakistan Sri Lanka 2009/ England
England Australia 2010/ West Indies
West Indies Sri Lanka 2012/ Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka India 2014/ Bangladesh
West Indies England 2016/ India

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.