LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
JEE MAIN 2025 Foundation Course
NEET 2024 Crash Course
NEET 2025 Foundation Course
0 votes
in GK by (30.0k points)
closed by
In 1920 during the Calcutta session of National Congress, non co-operation manifesto was accepted. ____ was the President of the session.
1. Dr. Annie Besant
2. Pandit Madanmohan Malviya
3. Lala Lajpatrai
4. Badruddin Tayyabji

1 Answer

0 votes
by (55.2k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 3 : Lala Lajpatrai

The Correct answer is Lala Lajpatrai.

  • In early 1920, a joint Hindu-Muslim deputation was sent to the viceroy to seek redress of grievances on the issue of Khilafat, but the mission proved abortive.
  • In February 1920, Gandhi announced that the issues of the Punjab wrongs and constitutional advance had been overshadowed by the Khilafat question and that he would soon lead a movement of non-cooperation if the terms of the peace the treaty failed to satisfy the Indian Muslims.
  • The Treaty of Sevres with Turkey, signed in May 1920, completely dismembered Turkey.
  • In June 1920 An all-party conference at Allahabad approved a programme of a boycott of schools, colleges and law courts, and asked Gandhi to lead it.
  • August 31, 1920, The Khilafat Committee started a campaign of non-cooperation and the movement was formally launched. (Tilak had, incidentally, breathed his last on August 1, 1920.)
  • September 1920 At a special session in Calcutta under the Presidentship of Lala Lajpatrai, Congress approved a non-cooperation programme.
  • The programme included
  1. Boycott of government schools and colleges;
  2.  Boycott of law courts and dispensation of justice through panchayats instead;
  3. Boycott of legislative councils; (there were some differences over this as some leaders like C.R. Das were not willing to include a boycott of councils, but bowed to Congress discipline; these leaders boycotted elections held in November 1920 and the majority of the voters too stayed away);
  4. Boycott of foreign cloth and use of khadi instead; also, the practice of hand-spinning to be done;
  5. Renunciation of government honours and titles; the second phase could include mass civil disobedience including resignation from government service, and
    non-payment of taxes.
  • During the movement, the participants were supposed to work for Hindu-Muslim unity and for the removal of untouchability, all the time remaining non-violent. December 1920 At the Nagpur session of the Indian National Congress
  1. The programme of non-cooperation was endorsed.
  2.  An important change was made in the Congress creed: now, instead of having the attainment of self-government through constitutional means as its goal, the Congress decided to have the attainment of swaraj through peaceful and legitimate means, thus committing itself to an extraconstitutional mass struggle.
  3. Some important organisational changes were made: a congress working committee (CWC) of 15 members was set up to lead the Congress from now onwards; provincial congress committees on a linguistic basis were organised; ward committees were organised, and the entry fee was reduced to four annas.
  4. Gandhi declared that if the non-cooperation the programme was implemented completely, swaraj would be ushered in within a year. Many groups of revolutionary terrorists, especially those from Bengal also pledged support to the Congress programme.
  5. At this stage, some leaders like Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Annie Besant, G.S. Kharpade and B.C. Pal left the Congress as they believed in a constitutional and lawful struggle while some others like Surendranath Banerjea founded the Indian National Liberal Federation and played a minor role in national politics henceforward.
  • The adoption by the Congress of the non-cooperation the movement initiated earlier by the Khilafat Committee gave it new energy, and the years 1921 and 1922 saw an unprecedented popular upsurge

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.