LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (59.8k points)
closed by
What does ‘M’ stand for in the abbreviation AIADMK, which represents a political party’s name?
1. Maruthur
2. Morpukku
3. Makkal
4. Munnetra

1 Answer

0 votes
by (117k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 4 : Munnetra

The Correct Answer is Munnetra.

  • The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) is a regional Indian political party in the Tamil Nadu state and the Puducherry, Union Territory.
  • AIADMK is a Dravidian party founded as a breakaway faction of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam by M. G. Ramachandran (M.G.R) in Madurai on 17 October 1972.
  • AIADMK was headed by J. Jayalalithaa from 9 February 1989 to 5 December 2016, who served 6 times as Tamil Nadu's chief minister on many occasions. Seven times in the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly, the party has won majorities, making it the most active political outfit in the history of the state.
  • Until her death in 2016, Jayalalithaa was regarded as the "Mother of AIADMK" and was extremely famous among the Tamil community.
  • It is currently the governing party in Tamil Nadu and is part of the National Democratic Alliance's ruling political front in India (NDA).
  • Amma Anbu Maaligai, which is situated at Avvai Shanmugam Salai, Royapettah, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, is the headquarters of the party.
  • In 1986, the building was donated to the party by M.G.R's wife, V. N. Janaki Ramachandran.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.