LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (59.8k points)
closed by
Which among the following is an award given under the aegis of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research in India for excellence in the field of Science and Technology?
1. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award
2. GD Birla Award for Scientific Research
3. Infosys Prize
4. Om Prakash Bhasin Award

1 Answer

0 votes
by (117k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award

The correct answer is the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award.

  • The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize was established by CSIR in 1958.
  • The First Winner of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize was Kariamanickam Srinivasa Krishnan.
  • The prize is named after the Founder Director Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar.
  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize is given each year for outstanding contributions to science and technology.
  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prizes each of the value of Rs 5 lakh, are awarded annually.

  • In 1920, Krishnan went to work with C. V. Raman at the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata.
  • Krishnan conferred with the Padma Bhushan award by the Government of India in 1954.
  • On 4 January 1947. Dr. K. S. Krishnan was appointed as the first director of National Physical Laboratory India.
  • Sir Kariamanikkam Srinivasa Krishnan was an Indian physicist. He was a co-discoverer of Raman scattering, for which his mentor C. V. Raman was awarded the 1930 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.