LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (117k points)
closed by
Which of the following is not a member of the South Asian Association of Regional Cooperation (SAARC)?
1. Myanmar 
2. Pakistan
3. Bhutan
4. Nepal

1 Answer

0 votes
by (59.8k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 1 : Myanmar 

The correct answer is Myanmar.

  • The first summit of SAARC was held in Dhaka, Bangladesh on 7–8 December 1985.
  • It was attended by Bangladesh, Maldives, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bhutan Nepal, and India.


  • The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) was established with the signing of the SAARC Charter in Dhaka on 8 December 1985.
  • The SAARC Secretariat was established in Kathmandu on 16 January 1987.
  • SAARC comprises of eight-member States:
    • Afghanistan
    • Bangladesh
    • Bhutan
    • India
    • Maldives
    • Nepal
    • Pakistan
    • Sri Lanka


  • You can remember the names of SAARC Countries using the mnemonic
  • "MBBS PAIN" for Maldives, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Afghanistan, India, Nepal.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.