LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in History by (110k points)
closed by
Which of the following is a part of the ‘Sutta Pitaka’?
1. Dipavamsa
2. Majjhima Nikaya
3. Dhammasangani
4. Manu Smriti

1 Answer

0 votes
by (59.9k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 2 : Majjhima Nikaya

The correct answer is Majjhima Nikaya.

  • Majjhima Nikaya is the second of five Nikayas mentioned in Sutta Pitaka.
  • The main teaching or Dhamma of Buddha is mentioned in Sutta Pitaka which is divided into five Nikayas or collections:
    • Digha Nikaya
    • Majjhima Nikaya
    • Samyutta Nikaya
    • Anguttara Nikaya
    • Khuddaka Nikaya


  • Tripitaka is a Sanskrit word meaning 'Three Basket'.
  • The most important lessons of Buddhism are mentioned in Tripitakas written in the Pali language. They are:
    • Sutta Pitaka
    • Vinaya Pitaka
    • Abhidhamma Pitaka
  • Dipavamsa - It contains the history of the Island when Buddhism was expanded in Sri Lanka.
  • Dhammasangani - It contains the summary of Buddhism.
  • Manu Smriti - It means 'Laws of Manu' and contains the religious instructions for the Hindus.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.