LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (24.2k points)
closed by

Who among the following was NOT a member of States Reorganisation Committee constituted in 1953?

1. Fazal Ali
2. Pattabhi Sitarammayya
3. Hridaynath Kunzru
4. K.M. Panikkar

1 Answer

0 votes
by (24.2k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 2 : Pattabhi Sitarammayya

The correct answer is Pattabhi Sitarammayya.

  • Pattabhi Sitarammayya was not a member of States Reorganisation Committee constituted in 1953.

  • States Reorganisation Commission:
    • ​The States Reorganisation Commission was formed after the Linguistic Provinces Commission (Dhar Commission) of 1948. 
    • Dhar Commission​ rejected language as a parameter for formation or division of states.
    • Then the States Reorganisation Commission was appointed by Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru on December 1953.
    • The commission was headed by the retired Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Fazal Ali.
    • Its other two members were H. N. Kunzru and K. M. Panikkar.

  • A simple majority and ordinary legislative procedures are enough for Parliament to form new states or to change existing State boundaries.
  • 3 committees related to state reorganisation:
    • S.K Dhar Commission, 1948.
    • Jawaharlal Nehru, Sardar Patel and Pattabhi Sitaramayya Committee (JVP Committee).
    • States Reorganisation Commission,1953 or Fazal Ali Commission.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.