LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (24.2k points)
closed by
Which is the correctly matched option of captain of cricket team and year of World Cup victory?
1. Michael Clarke – 2007
2. Ricky Ponting – 2011
3. Imran Khan – 1996
4. Kapil Dev – 1983

1 Answer

0 votes
by (24.2k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 4 : Kapil Dev – 1983

The correct answer is Kapil Dev – 1983.

  • Captain of the Indian cricket team, Kapil Dev lifted the World Cup in 1983 defeating the West Indies team.
  • India shocked the world under the charismatic captaincy of Kapil Dev, who took the catch of Clive Lloyd that changed the game in India's favour. 
  • The rest three options are not matched correctly. Please check the table to know about all the winning teams and their captains of the International Men's Cricket World Cup since 1983.
  • Men's Cricket World Cup winners since 1983:
Year Winning Team Captain Of the winning Team
1983 India Kapil Dev
1987 Australia Alan Border
1992 Pakistan Imran Khan 
1996 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga
1999 Australia Steve Waugh
2003 Australia Ricky Ponting
2007 Australia Ricky Ponting
2011 India Mahendra Singh Dhoni
2015 Australia Michael Clarke
2019 England Eoin Morgan

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.