LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (24.2k points)
closed by
Who is the Chairman of the UPSC?
1. Vinay Mittal
2. Archana Nigam
3. David Syiemlieh
4. Alka Sirohi

1 Answer

0 votes
by (24.2k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 3 : David Syiemlieh

The correct answer is David Syiemlieh.

  • David Syiemlieh is the Chairman of the UPSC.
  • The current UPSC chairman is Pradeep Kumar Joshi. (Nov 2020)


  • UPSC (union public service commission)
    • It was formed on 1st October 1926.
    • Headquarters is in Dholpur House, New Delhi.
    • The recommendation of the Lee commission leads to the formation of the union public service commission.
    • Union Public Service Commissions is responsible for conducting examinations for appointments to the services of the union.
    • Union public service commission is the watchdog of the merit system in India.
    • Article 315 to 323 of the Indian constitution deals with the public service commission.
    • The commission consists of 9 to 11 members panel including the chairman.
    • The chairman and other members of UPSC are appointed by the President of India.
    • The chairman and members of the UPSC hold the office for the term of six years or until attains the age of sixty-five years, whichever is earlier.
    • Sir Ross Barker was the first chairman of the union public service commission.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.