0 votes
in Physics by (58.6k points)

Define different Newton’s law of motion.

1 Answer

+1 vote
by (66.3k points)
selected by
Best answer

The entire system of Dynamics is based on three laws of motion, which are the basis assumptions, and were formulated by Newton. 

First Law 

A particle remains at rest (if originally at rest) or continues to move in a straight line (If originally in motion) with a constant speed. If the resultant force acting on it is Zero.

It is also called the law of inertia, and consists of the following two parts: 

A body at rest has a tendency to remain at rest. It is called inertia of rest. 

A body in motion has a tendency to preserve its motion. It is called inertia of motion.

Second Law 

The rate of change of momentum is directly proportional to the external force applied on the body and take place, in the same direction in which the force acts. 

Let a body of mass ‘m’ is moving with a velocity ‘u’ along a straight line. It is acted upon a force ‘F’ and the velocity of the body becomes ‘v’ in time ‘t’ then. 

Initial momentum = m.u 

Initial momentum = m.v 

Change in momentum = m(v-u) 

Rate of change of momentum = change of momentum / Time 

= m(v-u)/t but 

v = u + a.t a = (v-u)/t 

i.e Rate of change of momentum = m.a 

But according to second law F proportional to m.a i.e. 

F = k.m.a Where K = constant. 

Unit of force 

1N = 1 kg-m/sec2 = 105 dyne = 1 grm.cm/sec2

Third Law 

The force of action and reaction between interacting bodies are equal in magnitude, opposite in direction and have the same line of action.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.