Sarthaks Test
+2 votes
in Biology by (51.2k points)
edited by
What is the basis of classification of algae?

1 Answer

+2 votes
by (257k points)
selected by
Best answer

Algae are classified into three main classes – Chlorophyceae, Phaeophyceae, and Rhodophyceae. These divisions are based on the following factors:
(a) Major photosynthetic pigments present
(b) Form of stored food
(c) Cell wall composition
(d) Number of flagella and position of insertion
Class I – Chlorophyceae
Common name – Green algae
Major pigments – Chlorophylls a and b
Stored food – Starch
Cell wall composition – Cellulose
Flagella number and position – 28; equal and apical
Class II – Phaeophyceae
Common name– Brown algae
Major pigments – Chlorophylls a and c, and fucoxanthin
Stored food – Mannitol and laminarin
Cell wall composition – Cellulose and algin
Flagella number and position – 2; unequal and lateral
Class III – Rhodophyceae
Common name – Red algae
Major pigments – Chlorophylls a and b, and phycoerythrin
Stored food – Floridean starch
Cell wall – Cellulose, pectin, and polysulphate esters
Flagella number – Absent

Related questions

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.