0 votes
in The World After the Second World War by (54k points)
closed by

Which seven national leaders contributed in the establishment of SAARC?

1 Answer

+1 vote
by (45.4k points)
selected by
Best answer

SAARC was established in 1985 at Dhaka in Bangladesh. For the mutual cooperation and improvement among the nations, national state heads of seven countries formed an organisation named South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC). 

These seven national leaders were the following :

  • Rajiv Gandhi, Prime minister of India 
  • Zia-Ul-Haq, President of Pakistan 
  • Hussain Khurshid, President of Bangladesh. 
  • Bir Bikram Birendra Shah, king of Nepal. 
  • Jigme Singye Wangchuk, king of Bhutan. 
  • Julius Richard Jayawardane, President of Sri Lanka. 
  • Maumun Gayum, President of Maldives.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.