0 votes
in Sociology by (52.2k points)
closed by

Discuss Panchayati Raj and its three tiers.

1 Answer

+1 vote
by (46.8k points)
selected by
Best answer

Panchayati Raj system came into being as per 73rd amendment in 1992. It refers to a decentralized form of governance where, the villages would be responsible for their own affairs. This vision was known as ‘Gram Swaraj’ or ‘village self governance’. 

The 3- tier system of Panchayati Raj consists of: 

• Village-level Panchayats. 

• Block-level Panchayats. 

• District-level Panchayats.

Powers and responsibilities delegated to the panchayats at different levels are as follows : 

• Preparation of the economic development plan and social justice plan. 

• Implementation of schemes for economic development and social justice. 

• To levy and collect appropriate taxes, duties, tolls and fees.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.