0 votes
in History by (27.7k points)
closed by

Enumerate the main provisions of the Indian Independence Act.

1 Answer

+1 vote
by (26.6k points)
selected by
Best answer

The main provisions of the Indian Independence Act of 1947, were as follows : 

• On 15th August 1947, after the partition of India, two independent kingdoms, India and Pakistan would be established. 

• Eastern Bengal, Western Punjab, Sindh and North-West Frontier Province would be included in Pakistan. 

• It was not obligatory on the part of both the nations to accept the membership of the British Commonwealth of Nations. The choice was left to India and Pakistan. 

• The title Kaiser-i-Hind, awarded to the British Crown would be abolished and the post of the Secretary of States for India would come to an end. 

• Before the framing of the new Constitutions in India and Pakistan, both the countries would be governed under the Government of India Act, 1953. 

• The native rulers were given the choice to join any State they liked. 

• Those who had joined the civil service before 15th August, 1947 would continue in that service after independence. 

They would enjoy the same privileges and rights relating to the remuneration, leave, pension, etc. 

Accordingly, Mohammed Ali Jinnah became the Governor General of Pakistan on 15th August, 1947. From the Red Fort in Delhi, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru delivered his ‘Tryst with Destiny’ speech on 15th August, 1947 as the clock struck 12 and India became independent of the British rule.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.