LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in Biology by (54.9k points)
closed by

What are the major divisions in the Plantae? What is the basis for these divisions?

1 Answer

+1 vote
by (54.7k points)
selected by
Best answer

Some plants might have a thalloid body whereas some might have plant body differentiated into true roots, stem, and leaves. Some might have a naked seed whereas some might have seeds enclosed in a fruit. Therefore, Kingdom Plantae is divided into five major divisions which are Thallophyta, Bryophyta, Pteridophyta, Gymnosperms, and Angiosperms. They all are different from each other on a certain basis. 

The bases of these divisions are: 

(i) Presence or absence of distinct organs like whether the plant body is differentiated into true root, stem, and leaf or not. 

(ii) Presence or absence of distinct and differentiated tissues, which can carry food (phloem) and water (xylem). 

(iii) Presence or absence of seeds. 

(iv) Whether the seeds are enclosed within fruits or not

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.