0 votes
in Physics by (54.7k points)
closed ago by

Explaining briefly about seismic zones.

1 Answer

+1 vote
by (54.5k points)
selected ago by
Best answer

The Geological Survey of India (G.S.I) first published the seismic zoning map of India in the year 1935. This map tells us about the earthquake-prone areas in India. The Map is colour coded in a different colour which shows four different seismic zones of India. 

They are as follows:

1. Zone – II: This is the least active seismic zone. 

2. Zone – III: It is included in the moderate seismic zone. 

3. Zone – IV: This is considered to be high seismic zone. 

4. Zone – V: It is the highest seismic zone.

The Map Below shows the Seismic Zones of India.

Related questions

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.