LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in GK by (110k points)
closed by
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is accorded annually by the:
1. Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India
2. Indian National Congress
3. Rajiv Gandhi Memorial Trust
4. Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Govt. of India

1 Answer

0 votes
by (59.9k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 4 : Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Govt. of India

The correct answer is the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Govt. of India.


  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.
  • The recipient(s) is/are selected by a committee constituted by the Ministry and are honored for their "spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports over a period of four years" at the international level.


Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award:

  • This award was instituted in 1991-92.
  • Chess Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand was the first recipient of this award.
  • The winner of the Khel Ratna Award gets a reward of 25 lac rupees.
  • This award is given annually to those sportspersons who make the country proud at international events. 


  •  The National Sports Day is celebrated on August 29, the birth anniversary of hockey wizard Dhyan Chand.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.