LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in History by (30.0k points)
closed by
When was the resolution of Purna Swaraj passed by the Congress?
1. 26 February 1930, Karachi
2. 26 January 1930, Lahore
3. 26 November 1931, Calcutta
4. 26 January 1930, Bombay

1 Answer

0 votes
by (54.3k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 2 : 26 January 1930, Lahore

The Correct Answer is 26 January 1930, Lahore.

  • The Indian National Congress issued the Purna Swaraj declaration on January 26, 1930, resolving the Congress and Indian nationalists to fight for Purna Swaraj or full independence from the British Empire.
  • Jawaharlal Nehru raised the Indian flag on the banks of the Ravi River in Lahore, Pakistan, on December 31, 1929.
  • The Congress had requested that India's people commemorate January 26th as Independence Day.
  • The Indian flag was raised in public around the country by Congress volunteers, nationalists, and the general public. 
  • The Congress designated January 26 as India's Independence Day, honouring those who fought for the country's independence.
  • The British decided to hand over power and political clout to India in 1947, and 15 August was designated as India's official Independence Day.
  • The new Constitution of India, as drafted and approved by the Constituent Assembly, was to take effect on January 26, 1950, to commemorate the 1930 declaration.
  • India became a republic on that day in 1950. Every year, the 26th of January is observed as India's Republic Day.

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.