LIVE Course for free

Rated by 1 million+ students
Get app now
0 votes
in History by (30.0k points)
closed by
In which of the following sessions it was declared that Goal of congress was to attain Swaraj?
1. 1904
2. 1905
3. 1906
4. 1907

1 Answer

0 votes
by (30.0k points)
selected by
Best answer
Correct Answer - Option 3 : 1906

The correct answer is 1906.

  • The Indian National Congress (INC) was founded by Allan Octavian Hume on 28th December 1885.
  • The first session of INC was held in Bombay at Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit Collegeram.
  • The first President of the INC session held in Bombay was Womesh Chandra Banerjee.
  • 72 delegates attended the session.
  • The important leaders during the foundation of INC were Dadabhai Naoroji, Badruddin Tyyabji, Anand Mohan Bose, R.C Dutt, Pherozshah Mehta, G.K Gokhale, G. Subramaniyam Aiyyar, Dinshaw Vacha, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Mahadev Govind Ranade, Madan Mohan Malviya, etc.
  • Formerly Indian National Congress was known as Indian National Union.
  • The INC was formed during the tenure of Lord Dufferin (Viceroy of India from 1884-1888).
  • The word swaraj means Self-rule or Independence.
  • Swaraj was first articulated in the presidential address of Dadabhai Naoroji as the Congress's goal in its Calcutta Session in 1906.
  • The great freedom fighter Bal Gangadhar Tilak said "Swaraj is my birthright and I will have It".

Welcome to Sarthaks eConnect: A unique platform where students can interact with teachers/experts/students to get solutions to their queries. Students (upto class 10+2) preparing for All Government Exams, CBSE Board Exam, ICSE Board Exam, State Board Exam, JEE (Mains+Advance) and NEET can ask questions from any subject and get quick answers by subject teachers/ experts/mentors/students.